‘Sabong’ elite to battle it out at 2019 World Slasher Cup-2

An American (Cris Copas of Kentucky) and his partner from Mindanao (Claude Bautista of the CPB group) may have snagged the solo championship at the World Slasher Cup first edition last February, but those focusing on winning the coveted silver-plated cup will have a second chance this year.

On May 27, the 2019 World Slasher Cup-2 rolls out at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum and will last until June 2. Winning the title will not be a walk in the park, though, as tough challenges are ahead for the best breeders and bloodlines in what is touted as the one and only Olympics of Cockfighting.

With nearly 200 entries, contenders can expect to go up against only the revered names in the sport, including 7-time World Slasher Cup champion Patrick “Idol” Antonio, who was the sole winner in the first edition of World Slasher Cup 2018. Other multiple title holders Frank Berin (2017 World Slasher Cup-1 & -2 winner) and Rey Briones (2018 World Slasher Cup-2 winner) are also raring to add another trophy to their collection.

2018 World Slasher Cup-2 solo champ Rey Briones (GREENGOLD UNO)

World Slasher Cup former champs and veterans are also expected to keep the competition heated up: Nene Araneta, Peping Ricafort, Joey Sy, Dicky Lim, Biboy Enriquez, Ito Ynares, Anthony Lim, Vergil Intino, Lawrence Wacnang, Art de Castro, Magno Lim, Ed Apari, Rikki Reyes, to name a few.

Also expected to bring their best birds to the fights are the following loyal World Slasher Cup combatants: Ed Ochoa, Jun Mendoza, Mel Lim, James Uy, Roel Gatchalian, Tony Marfori, Cleso Evangelista, Faustino Datu Jr., Lawrence Villanueva, John Yap, James Yap, Marc Cruz, Rhemy Medrano, Arman Santos, Peping Ricafort, Rey Morla, Virgilio Lacson, Jun Villanueva, Alwynn Sy, Gerry Espina, Jun Marasigan, Efren Canlas, Marvin Rocafort, Celso Salazar, Jet Fernando, Carlos, Tumpalan, Boy De Roca, Honey Yu, Nelson Uy, Louie Madlambayan, Gerry Escalona, Willard Ty, Ricky Magtuto, Marvin Perez, Eugene Perez, Kenneth Liao, and Tady Palma;

Ramil Capistrano, Julio Vinluan, Rene Adao, Boody Buenaventura, Boy Montano, Jimmy Junsay, Nestor Vendivil, Noel Jarin, Jesry Palmares, Jojo Gatlabyan, Edgar Santos, Rey Directo, Nick Crisostomo, Jun Sevilla, Eddie Araneta, Boy Gamilla, Jowar Baustista, Pros Antonio, Wilvin Sy, Jeffrey Sy, Jess Moradas, Bernie Tacoy, Jun Bacolod, Tonton Uy, Atty. Astorga, Dante Hinlo, Vic Lacsao, Boboy delos Santos, Hector Magpantay, Amante Capuchino, Boyet Joson, Gemmy Coronel, Anthony Garcia, Nino Alando, Noe Palmares, Marvin Rillo, Jun Topacio, Mike Romulo, Charlie Chan, Elan Nagano, Remegio Llarenas, James Bagay, Erik Abella, Moises Villanueva, Toto Sevilla, Ed Ladores, Paolo Malvar, Jessie Viceo, Jubee Navarro, Emil Tiu, Mikee Menez, Lito Orillaza, Boy Tuazon, Glen Eduarte, and Ms. Osang dela Cruz.

Other participants can still register their entries as early as now via the World Slasher Cup official website; or through the Derby Office via 588-4000 local 8227, or 911-2928. Hennies are not allowed in World Slasher Cup.

For audiences, the World Slasher Cup Derby Office holds a Loyalty Promo that gives a huge discount to bulk buyers of tickets to all fight dates from May 27 to June 2 (with a one-day break on June 1). Fans can buy Patron tickets for all fight dates at a discount for only ₱9,000 (from ₱10,800); and Upper Box tickets at a discounted price of only ₱6,000 (from ₱7,200).

The World Slasher Cup has been supported by Thunderbird, and media partners PitGames Media, Inc., the Journal Group, Pilipino Mirror, Saksi Ngayon and Diaryo Bomba; ABS-CBN Action + Sports, “Sagupaan,” “Sabong Nation,” and “Sabong Pilipinas”; and TV5’s “All New Tukaan” and “Bakbakan Na TV.” — Press Release/Araneta Group, The Sabong Chronicles

Share your thoughts in the comments.