Foreigners, locals face off in World Slasher Cup-1 2019

Powered by a formidable cast of more than 300 entries, the prestigious 2019 World Slasher Cup 9-Cock Invitational Derby finally starts on Monday, Jan. 28, at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Several foreign and local participants come face-to-face today, Saturday, Jan. 26 for the traditional pitting of the birds at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center in Quezon City.

The real action sizzles on Jan. 28, 29 and 30 (2-cock slims); Jan. 31, Feb. 1 and 2 (3-cock semis); Feb. 3 and 4 (Day 1 and 2 4-cock Pre-Finals); and Feb. 6 (4-Cock Grand Finals).

The 9-day international cockfest hosted by Pintakasi of Champions lured the toughest derby champions to date.

Cockfight idol Patrick Antonio, defending champion with 8.5 points, will shoot for his eighth WSC title.

The participants include past champions of WSC: Biboy Enriquez, Nene Araneta, Ray Alexander of Alabama, Rey Briones, Dicky Lim, Joey Sy, Ed Aparri, Art de Castro, Doc Ayong Lorenzo, Boy Marzo, Frank Berin, Dante Eslabon, Escolin Brothers, Rikki Reyes, Magno Lim, Peping Ricafort, Boy de Roca, Honey Yu, Noel Jarin and Joey delos Santos with American partner Bruce Brown of California.

Challenge will come from foreigners Lonnie Harper; Marty Bently of Ohio; Mike Formoso, Erik Rosales, Robert Dominguez and Bruce Brown of California; Butch Cambra of Hawaii, Nathan Jumper of Mississippi, Tim Fitzgerald of Utah, Bobby Fairchild of Kentucky, Brent Douglas of Black Bonanza fame and Ernest Atkins of Tennessee.

Other foreign entries are from Ferdinand Macaraeg, and Soan Sogianto of Indonesia; Rene Penalosa, Joey Melendres, Greg Berin of Australia; Mark Salazar of Malaysia.

Other participants: Joey Sy, Ed Ochoa, Boy Marzo, Rikki Reyes, Jun Sevilla, Mel “Man Fighter” Lim, James Uy, Roel Gatchalian, Allan Siaco, Celso Evangelista, James Yap, Gerald Ampil, Rhemy Medrano, Arman Santos, Peping Ricafort, Crispin Aguas, Rey Morla, Tony Marfori, Virgilio Lacson, Jun Villanueva, Boyet Plaza, Aylwynn Sy, Ricos Palmares, Efren Canlas, Doc Marvin Rocafort, Celso Salazar, Jet Fernando, Carlos Tumpalan, Boy De Roca, Dong Chung, Honey Yu, Nelson Uy, Terence Madlambayan, and Ma. Paz Ducepec.

Gerry Escalona, Pol Estrellado, Willard Ty, Ricky Magtuto, Marvin Perez, Eugene Perez, Kenneth Liao, Ruben Tan, Ding Cajulis, Tady Palma, Ramil Capistrano, Mark Celso, Julio Vinluan, Rene Adao, Boody Buenaventura, Boy Montano, Jimmy Junsay, Nestor Vendivil, Ruel Ricafort, Arthur Alonzo, Luis Tapia, Jojo Gatlabayan, Edgar Santos, Rey Directo, Nick Crisostomo, Jun Sevilla, Eddie Araneta, Felix Tebol, Boy Gamilla, John Gutierrez, Pros Antonio, Wilvin Sy, Jeffrey Sy, Jess Moradas, Bernie Tacoy, Jun Bacolod, lawyer Arcal Astorga, Dante Hinlo, Vic Lacsao, Buboy delos Santos, Hector Magpantay, and Osang dela Cruz.

The World Slasher Cup 2019 is sponsored by Thunderbird, Emperador and Powertrack. Interested parties may call the WSC derby office at 588-4000 loc 8227 or 911-2928; or visit Audiences may buy tickets at the Ticketnet Booth, Coliseum Circle beside Yellow Gate.

The WSC Cup-2 is now scheduled on May 27 – June 2, 2019. — Press Release/Araneta Group, The Sabong Chronicles

Share your thoughts in the comments.